PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported May 24, 2011

Dream on Me Recalls Drop-Side Cribs Due to Entrapment, Suffocation, Laceration, and Fall Hazards

Full-Size Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the crib. When the drop-side rail partially detaches, it creates a space betw…

Recall #
11224
Affected scope
About 22,000
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled The cribs are drop-side wooden cribs, painted or stained in black, cherry, dark brown, na….

Dream on Me Recalls Drop-Side Cribs Due to Entrapment, Suffocation, Laceration, and Fall … was recalled and listed by the CPSC in May 24, 2011. Reason: Full-Size Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the cri…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using these cribs and contact the company. Full-Size Cr…. Verify recall #11224 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-Full-Size Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the cri….

None
agency class
May 24, 2011
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #11224 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 5 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Children & Baby Products recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 3,781 children & baby products recalls on record

0100200300400500600 20052008201120142017202020232026 196

Product description

The cribs are drop-side wooden cribs, painted or stained in black, cherry, dark brown, natural, white, and pink. Full-Size Cribs: Models 612, 613, 615, 616, 617, 619, 628, and 639 are included in this recall. The model number and "Dream on Me Inc." are printed on a label located on the inside of one of the end panels. The label lists a manufacture date between January 2006 and December 2009. Portable Cribs: The cribs are smaller than full-size cribs and the ends fold in to facilitate portability. Model numbers 621, 625 and 627 are included in this recall. The model number and "Dream on Me Inc." are printed on a label located on the mattress board. The label lists a manufacture date between August 2007 and February 2009.

Reason for recall

Full-Size Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the crib. When the drop-side rail partially detaches, it creates a space between the drop side and the crib mattress. An infant or toddler's body can become entrapped in the space, which can lead to strangulation and/or suffocation. A child can also fall out of the crib. Portable Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the crib or fall unexpectedly. In addition, the portable crib mattress support hardware and the drop-side release latch can break easily, and the slats can loosen or break and detach from the crib. Children can also cut themselves on exposed hardware inside the cribs.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately stop using these cribs and contact the company. Full-Size Cribs: Consumers will be given a free kit that will immobilize the drop side. Kits will be available beginning June 30, 2011. Portable Cribs: Consumers can receive a free replacement portable crib with fixed sides. Replacement cribs will be available in mid-July 2011.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 11224
Date reported May 24, 2011
Date initiated May 24, 2011
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 22,000
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately stop using these cribs and contact the company. Full-Size Cribs: Consumers will be given a free kit …

  • Check the recall number (11224) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
The cribs are drop-side wooden cribs, painted or stained in black, cherry, dark brown, natural, white, and pink. Full-Size Cribs: Models 612, 613, 615, 616, 617, 619, 628, and 639 are included in this recall. The model number and "Dream on Me Inc." are printed on a label located on the inside of one of the end panels. The label lists a manufacture date between January 2006 and December 2009. Portable Cribs: The cribs are smaller than full-size cribs and the ends fold in to facilitate portability. Model numbers 621, 625 and 627 are included in this recall. The model number and "Dream on Me Inc." are printed on a label located on the mattress board. The label lists a manufacture date between August 2007 and February 2009.. Units affected: About 22,000.
Why was this product recalled?
Full-Size Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the crib. When the drop-side rail partially detaches, it creates a space between the drop side and the crib mattress. An infant or toddler's body can become entrapped in the space, which can lead to strangulation and/or suffocation. A child can also fall out of the crib. Portable Cribs: The drop-side rail hardware can break or fail, allowing the drop side to detach from the crib or fall unexpectedly. In addition, the portable crib mattress support hardware and the drop-side release latch can break easily, and the slats can loosen or break and detach from the crib. Children can also cut themselves on exposed hardware inside the cribs.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately stop using these cribs and contact the company. Full-Size Cribs: Consumers will be given a free kit that will immobilize the drop side. Kits will be available beginning June 30, 2011. Portable Cribs: Consumers can receive a free replacement portable crib with fixed sides. Replacement cribs will be available in mid-July 2011.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on May 24, 2011. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 11224.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with CLEAR EYES Maximum Itchy Eye Relief, 0.5 fl oz (15 mL) per … → · All Children & Baby Products recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported May 24, 2011. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026