PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported December 1, 2015

Harbor Freight Tools Recalls Cordless Drills Due to Fire and Burn Hazards

An internal switching mechanism can become stuck in the "on" position and overheat, posing fire and burn hazards.

Recall #
16050
Affected scope
About 1.7 million units
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves Drill Master 18-volt cordless drills with item number 68239 and item….

Harbor Freight Tools Recalls Cordless Drills Due to Fire and Burn Hazards was recalled and listed by the CPSC in December 1, 2015. Reason: An internal switching mechanism can become stuck in the "on" position and overheat, posing fire and burn haza…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled drills and return the unit to the ne…. Verify recall #16050 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-An internal switching mechanism can become stuck in the "on" position and overheat, posing fire and burn haza….

None
agency class
December 1, 2015
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #16050 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 6 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Electronics recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 622 electronics recalls on record

102030405060 20052008201120142017202020232026 49

Product description

This recall involves Drill Master 18-volt cordless drills with item number 68239 and item number 68287. The drills are black with a red switch and were sold with an 18-volt rechargeable battery pack. Item number 68239 was sold individually and item number 68287 was sold as part of a kit, which included a flashlight. The flashlight is not included in the recall. The item number is located on a black label on the right side of the drill, just beneath the serial number. Drills with item number 69651 and item number 69652 are not included in the recall.

Reason for recall

An internal switching mechanism can become stuck in the "on" position and overheat, posing fire and burn hazards.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled drills and return the unit to the nearest Harbor Freight Tools store to receive a replacement drill.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 16050
Date reported December 1, 2015
Date initiated December 1, 2015
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 1.7 million units
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled drills and return the unit to the nearest Harbor Freight Tools store to rece…

  • Check the recall number (16050) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves Drill Master 18-volt cordless drills with item number 68239 and item number 68287. The drills are black with a red switch and were sold with an 18-volt rechargeable battery pack. Item number 68239 was sold individually and item number 68287 was sold as part of a kit, which included a flashlight. The flashlight is not included in the recall. The item number is located on a black label on the right side of the drill, just beneath the serial number. Drills with item number 69651 and item number 69652 are not included in the recall.. Units affected: About 1.7 million units.
Why was this product recalled?
An internal switching mechanism can become stuck in the "on" position and overheat, posing fire and burn hazards.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled drills and return the unit to the nearest Harbor Freight Tools store to receive a replacement drill.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on December 1, 2015. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 16050.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with JINHEZO Mini Waterproof LED Tea Lights Recalled Due to Risk… → · All Electronics recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported December 1, 2015. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026