PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported November 14, 2017

Go Wheels Self-Balancing Scooters/Hoverboards Recalled by Four Star Imports Due to Fire and Explosion Hazards; Sold Exclusively at Village Mart

The lithium-ion battery packs in the self-balancing scooters/hoverboards can overheat, posing a risk of the products smoking, catching fire and/or exploding.

Recall #
18028
Affected scope
About 1,800
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves all Go Wheels self-balancing scooters, commonly referred to as hover….

Go Wheels Self-Balancing Scooters/Hoverboards Recalled by Four Star Imports Due to Fire a… was recalled and listed by the CPSC in November 14, 2017. Reason: The lithium-ion battery packs in the self-balancing scooters/hoverboards can overheat, posing a risk of the p…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled self-balancing scooters/hoverboards …. Verify recall #18028 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-The lithium-ion battery packs in the self-balancing scooters/hoverboards can overheat, posing a risk of the p….

None
agency class
November 14, 2017
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #18028 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 6 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Electronics recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 622 electronics recalls on record

102030405060 20052008201120142017202020232026 49

Product description

This recall involves all Go Wheels self-balancing scooters, commonly referred to as hoverboards. The hoverboards have two wheels at either end of a platform and are powered by lithium-ion battery packs. "Go Wheel" is printed in a circle on the middle of the unit where the sides connect. The "Go Wheel" identification will illuminate when the hoverboard is powered on. They were sold in black, white, red, blue, gold and pink.

Reason for recall

The lithium-ion battery packs in the self-balancing scooters/hoverboards can overheat, posing a risk of the products smoking, catching fire and/or exploding.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled self-balancing scooters/hoverboards and contact Four Star Imports to return their unit to receive a free UL2272-certified replacement unit.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 18028
Date reported November 14, 2017
Date initiated November 14, 2017
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 1,800
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled self-balancing scooters/hoverboards and contact Four Star Imports to return …

  • Check the recall number (18028) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves all Go Wheels self-balancing scooters, commonly referred to as hoverboards. The hoverboards have two wheels at either end of a platform and are powered by lithium-ion battery packs. "Go Wheel" is printed in a circle on the middle of the unit where the sides connect. The "Go Wheel" identification will illuminate when the hoverboard is powered on. They were sold in black, white, red, blue, gold and pink.. Units affected: About 1,800.
Why was this product recalled?
The lithium-ion battery packs in the self-balancing scooters/hoverboards can overheat, posing a risk of the products smoking, catching fire and/or exploding.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled self-balancing scooters/hoverboards and contact Four Star Imports to return their unit to receive a free UL2272-certified replacement unit.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on November 14, 2017. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 18028.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with JINHEZO Mini Waterproof LED Tea Lights Recalled Due to Risk… → · All Electronics recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported November 14, 2017. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026