PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

NHTSA recall · Reported June 20, 2018

HONDA 2018: EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS

Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area of the certification labels may have random characters which can affe…

Recall #
18V421000
Verify with NHTSA →
View my saved recalls

Honda recalled Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The man….

HONDA 2018: EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS was recalled by Honda in June 20, 2018. Reason: Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area…. Remedy: Honda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the certification label, free of charg…. Verify recall #18V421000 with the NHTSA before acting.

The recall

Honda issued this NHTSA recall-Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area….

None
agency class
June 20, 2018
reported

Sourced from official NHTSA enforcement records. Verify recall #18V421000 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

The number of affected units is not disclosed in the agency filing, which is common for drug and food recalls where lot-level tracking supersedes unit counts. Distribution scope (see Distribution below) directly affects the consumer exposure window and determines whether a recall remains regional or escalates into a nationwide advisory. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 3 from NHTSA - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Vehicles recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 7,783 vehicles recalls on record

200300400500600 20052008201120142017202020232026 222

Product description

Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area of the certification labels may have random characters which can affect the owner's ability to determine if a safety recall includes their vehicle.

Reason for recall

Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area of the certification labels may have random characters which can affect the owner's ability to determine if a safety recall includes their vehicle.

Hazard

If the owner is not able to verify if their vehicle is involved in safety recall, it can increase the risk of injury or crash.

Remedy, what to do

Honda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the certification label, free of charge. The recall began August 7, 2018. Owners may contact Honda customer service at 1-888-234-2138. Honda's number for this recall is U23.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the NHTSA recall record
Attribute Value
Agency National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 18V421000
Date reported June 20, 2018
Date initiated June 20, 2018
Recalling firm Honda
Affected scope Not disclosed
Distribution United States
Official source NHTSA notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official NHTSA enforcement record. Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

What to do with this recall

Honda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the certification label, free of charge. The recall began August 7, 2018. Ow…

  • Check the recall number (18V421000) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official NHTSA notice before acting. NHTSA notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official NHTSA record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area of the certification labels may have random characters which can affect the owner's ability to determine if a safety recall includes their vehicle.. Recalled by Honda.
Why was this product recalled?
Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018 Honda Civic vehicles. The manufacturing date area of the certification labels may have random characters which can affect the owner's ability to determine if a safety recall includes their vehicle.
What should consumers do?
Honda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the certification label, free of charge. The recall began August 7, 2018. Owners may contact Honda customer service at 1-888-234-2138. Honda's number for this recall is U23.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the NHTSA on June 20, 2018. NHTSA does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 18V421000.
Where was the recalled product distributed?
Distribution: United States.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Vehicle and equipment notices outside this manufacturer and filing state, matched by archive severity grade and report timing.

Compare this recall with KTM North America Recalls Off-Road Motorcycles Due to Risk … → · All Vehicles recalls

This recall: NHTSA, reported June 20, 2018. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026