CPSC recall · Reported December 2, 2020
Huffy Recalls Torex Ride-on Toy UTVs Due to Injury Hazard; Sold Exclusively at Walmart
The ride-on toy can unexpectedly move when connecting the battery after recharging, posing an injury hazard.
The CPSC recalled This recall involves Huffy-branded Torex 24-volt ride-on toy UTVs (model number 17249). T….
Huffy Recalls Torex Ride-on Toy UTVs Due to Injury Hazard; Sold Exclusively at Walmart was recalled and listed by the CPSC in December 2, 2020. Reason: The ride-on toy can unexpectedly move when connecting the battery after recharging, posing an injury hazard.. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled toy UTV and contact Huffy for a free…. Verify recall #21040 with the CPSC before acting.
The recall
issued this CPSC recall-The ride-on toy can unexpectedly move when connecting the battery after recharging, posing an injury hazard..
- None
- agency class
- December 2, 2020
- reported
Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #21040 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.
Recall Insight
This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.
Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 5 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.
Children & Baby Products recalls over time
Where this recall sits in its category - 3,781 children & baby products recalls on record
Product description
This recall involves Huffy-branded Torex 24-volt ride-on toy UTVs (model number 17249). The toy UTVs measure 53 inches long, 43 inches wide and 27 inches tall when assembled. They are black with red trim, and "Torex" labels are on the front and side of the ride-on toy. The recalled toy UTVs were manufactured between June 2019 and November 2019 with date codes: 16919, 17119, 18019, 19019, 20019, 20219, 20519, 24819, 24919, 25019, 25219, 25319, 25419, 32219, 32319 and 33719. The model number and date code are located under left rear wheel well above left rear wheel.
Reason for recall
The ride-on toy can unexpectedly move when connecting the battery after recharging, posing an injury hazard.
Remedy, what to do
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled toy UTV and contact Huffy for a free replacement controller.
Recall Profile
| Attribute | Value |
|---|---|
| Agency | U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission |
| Severity class | Not classified by agency |
| Status | Active |
| Recall number | 21040 |
| Date reported | December 2, 2020 |
| Date initiated | December 2, 2020 |
| Recalling firm | Not disclosed |
| Affected scope | About 5,150 |
| Distribution | Not disclosed |
| Official source | CPSC notice → |
Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.
What to do with this recall
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled toy UTV and contact Huffy for a free replacement controller.
- Check the recall number (21040) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
- Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
- Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next
This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.
Frequently Asked Questions
What product was recalled? ▼
Why was this product recalled? ▼
What should consumers do? ▼
Which agency issued this recall? ▼
How do I report an injury from a recalled product? ▼
Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing
Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.
Similar severity · nearest report date
Same archive severity grade, closest by report date among other firms and states.
Similar Children & Baby Products · nearest report date
Same product category, closest by report date among other firms and states (deduped against the severity set).
Compare this recall with CLEAR EYES Maximum Itchy Eye Relief, 0.5 fl oz (15 mL) per … → · All Children & Baby Products recalls
Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026