PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported June 9, 2021

Non-Contact Voltage Testers Recalled by Klein Tools Due to Shock Hazard

The on/off button can remain depressed during the power on or power off cycle, causing the tester to work improperly. Consumers testing electrical sources could fail to be warned …

Recall #
21150
Affected scope
About 1,690,000 (In addition, about 67,800 were sold in Canada)
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves Klein Tools Non-Contact Voltage Testers with model numbers NCVT1 and….

Non-Contact Voltage Testers Recalled by Klein Tools Due to Shock Hazard was recalled and listed by the CPSC in June 9, 2021. Reason: The on/off button can remain depressed during the power on or power off cycle, causing the tester to work imp…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled non-contact voltage testers and cont…. Verify recall #21150 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-The on/off button can remain depressed during the power on or power off cycle, causing the tester to work imp….

None
agency class
June 9, 2021
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #21150 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Medical Devices recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 41,021 medical devices recalls on record

01,0002,0003,0004,000 20052008201120142017202020232026 1,947

Product description

This recall involves Klein Tools Non-Contact Voltage Testers with model numbers NCVT1 and date codes ending H7. The product was also sold separately and in kits. The following model numbers are involved in the recall, all bearing date codes ending in H7. Model Number Description Retail Price (U.S. $) NCVT1 Non-Contact Voltage Tester 16.97 NCVT1SEN Non-Contact Voltage Tester with Sensormatic Tag 16.97 NCVT1EP Non-Contact Voltage Tester (Econo. Pack - Bubble Bag) 16.97 NCVT1A Non-Contact Voltage Tester (Asian Packaging) 16.97 NCVT1E Non-Contact Voltage Tester (European Packaging) 16.97 69149 KIT, 3PC, Multimeter Test Kit (Retail Clam Shell) 39.97 80018 KIT, 4PC, Residential Electrical Tool Kit (Poly-Bag & UPC Label) 49.99 80023 KIT, 3PC, Home Inspector Moisture Meter Kit, (Poly-Bag & UPC Label) 59.99 MPZ00001 KIT, 2PC, Pliers + NCVT1 Tester (Clam Shell) 51.72 MPZ00052R KIT, 3PC, Stripper/Cutter + NCVT1 Tester + RT210 GFCI Tester (Retail Clam Shell) 67.42 The meters have a yellow body housing with a tinted gray tip and have a black pocket clip/battery cap on the back. The part/model numbers are written on the top of each unit above the brand name KLEIN TOOLS and date codes are printed on the bottom of the unit under the brand name. The product is rated CAT IV and measures voltage up to 1,000 Volts.

Reason for recall

The on/off button can remain depressed during the power on or power off cycle, causing the tester to work improperly. Consumers testing electrical sources could fail to be warned of the presence of live voltage if the tester is not properly operating, posing a shock hazard to the users.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled non-contact voltage testers and contact Klein Tools for instructions on receiving a free replacement tool.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 21150
Date reported June 9, 2021
Date initiated June 9, 2021
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 1,690,000 (In addition, about 67,800 were sold in Canada)
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled non-contact voltage testers and contact Klein Tools for instructions on rece…

  • Check the recall number (21150) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves Klein Tools Non-Contact Voltage Testers with model numbers NCVT1 and date codes ending H7. The product was also sold separately and in kits. The following model numbers are involved in the recall, all bearing date codes ending in H7. Model Number Description Retail Price (U.S. $) NCVT1 Non-Contact Voltage Tester 16.97 NCVT1SEN Non-Contact Voltage Tester with Sensormatic Tag 16.97 NCVT1EP Non-Contact Voltage Tester (Econo. Pack - Bubble Bag) 16.97 NCVT1A Non-Contact Voltage Tester (Asian Packaging) 16.97 NCVT1E Non-Contact Voltage Tester (European Packaging) 16.97 69149 KIT, 3PC, Multimeter Test Kit (Retail Clam Shell) 39.97 80018 KIT, 4PC, Residential Electrical Tool Kit (Poly-Bag & UPC Label) 49.99 80023 KIT, 3PC, Home Inspector Moisture Meter Kit, (Poly-Bag & UPC Label) 59.99 MPZ00001 KIT, 2PC, Pliers + NCVT1 Tester (Clam Shell) 51.72 MPZ00052R KIT, 3PC, Stripper/Cutter + NCVT1 Tester + RT210 GFCI Tester (Retail Clam Shell) 67.42 The meters have a yellow body housing with a tinted gray tip and have a black pocket clip/battery cap on the back. The part/model numbers are written on the top of each unit above the brand name KLEIN TOOLS and date codes are printed on the bottom of the unit under the brand name. The product is rated CAT IV and measures voltage up to 1,000 Volts.. Units affected: About 1,690,000 (In addition, about 67,800 were sold in Canada).
Why was this product recalled?
The on/off button can remain depressed during the power on or power off cycle, causing the tester to work improperly. Consumers testing electrical sources could fail to be warned of the presence of live voltage if the tester is not properly operating, posing a shock hazard to the users.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled non-contact voltage testers and contact Klein Tools for instructions on receiving a free replacement tool.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on June 9, 2021. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 21150.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with GORE VIABIL Short Wire Biliary Endoprosthesis, Model No. VS… → · All Medical Devices recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported June 9, 2021. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026