PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported February 20, 2025

Holosun Technologies Recalls Two Firearm Dot Sights Due to Battery Ingestion Hazard; Violations of Reese's Law Federal Safety Regulations for Consumer Products with Coin Batteries and Child Resistant Coin Battery Packaging

The recalled Holosun Red and Gold Firearm Dot Sights violate the mandatory federal regulations for consumer products containing button cell or coin batteries because the lithium c…

Recall #
25143
Affected scope
About 9,400
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves Holosun Firearm Dot Sights: Red Dot Sights (Model HS503G-ACSS) and G….

Holosun Technologies Recalls Two Firearm Dot Sights Due to Battery Ingestion Hazard; Viol… was recalled and listed by the CPSC in February 20, 2025. Reason: The recalled Holosun Red and Gold Firearm Dot Sights violate the mandatory federal regulations for consumer p…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled Firearm Dot Sights and place them in…. Verify recall #25143 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-The recalled Holosun Red and Gold Firearm Dot Sights violate the mandatory federal regulations for consumer p….

None
agency class
February 20, 2025
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #25143 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 5 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Children & Baby Products recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 3,781 children & baby products recalls on record

0100200300400500600 20052008201120142017202020232026 196

Product description

This recall involves Holosun Firearm Dot Sights: Red Dot Sights (Model HS503G-ACSS) and Gold Dot Sight (Model HE512C-GD). The dot sight is an accessory that attaches to a firearm and produces an illuminated color dot for precision aiming. They are labeled with the product name and model on the packaging sleeve, box, manual and product display panel. The product includes the dot sight in matte black color, one packaged CR2032 lithium coin battery and the manual.

Reason for recall

The recalled Holosun Red and Gold Firearm Dot Sights violate the mandatory federal regulations for consumer products containing button cell or coin batteries because the lithium coin battery can be easily accessed, posing an ingestion hazard. The products include a lithium coin battery which is not in child-resistant packaging, as required by Reese's Law. In addition, the products do not bear the required warnings. When button cell or coin batteries are swallowed, the ingested batteries can cause serious injuries, internal chemical burns, and death.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled Firearm Dot Sights and place them in an area that children cannot access. Contact Holosun Technologies for instructions on receiving a free recall kit which includes a battery compartment enclosure with the required labeling and an updated instruction manual for HS503G-ACSS models. For HE512C-GD models, Holosun Technologies will provide free return shipping to install a compliant battery compartment tray and include a compliant instruction manual and new packaging. Holosun Technologies is contacting all known purchasers directly. Note: Button cell and coin batteries are hazardous. Batteries should be disposed of or recycled by following local procedures for hazardous household waste, not in the trash.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 25143
Date reported February 20, 2025
Date initiated February 20, 2025
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 9,400
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled Firearm Dot Sights and place them in an area that children cannot access. Co…

  • Check the recall number (25143) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves Holosun Firearm Dot Sights: Red Dot Sights (Model HS503G-ACSS) and Gold Dot Sight (Model HE512C-GD). The dot sight is an accessory that attaches to a firearm and produces an illuminated color dot for precision aiming. They are labeled with the product name and model on the packaging sleeve, box, manual and product display panel. The product includes the dot sight in matte black color, one packaged CR2032 lithium coin battery and the manual.. Units affected: About 9,400.
Why was this product recalled?
The recalled Holosun Red and Gold Firearm Dot Sights violate the mandatory federal regulations for consumer products containing button cell or coin batteries because the lithium coin battery can be easily accessed, posing an ingestion hazard. The products include a lithium coin battery which is not in child-resistant packaging, as required by Reese's Law. In addition, the products do not bear the required warnings. When button cell or coin batteries are swallowed, the ingested batteries can cause serious injuries, internal chemical burns, and death.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled Firearm Dot Sights and place them in an area that children cannot access. Contact Holosun Technologies for instructions on receiving a free recall kit which includes a battery compartment enclosure with the required labeling and an updated instruction manual for HS503G-ACSS models. For HE512C-GD models, Holosun Technologies will provide free return shipping to install a compliant battery compartment tray and include a compliant instruction manual and new packaging. Holosun Technologies is contacting all known purchasers directly. Note: Button cell and coin batteries are hazardous. Batteries should be disposed of or recycled by following local procedures for hazardous household waste, not in the trash.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on February 20, 2025. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 25143.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with CLEAR EYES Maximum Itchy Eye Relief, 0.5 fl oz (15 mL) per … → · All Children & Baby Products recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported February 20, 2025. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026