PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

NHTSA recall · Reported July 7, 2026

SUBARU 2019-2025: EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS

Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Forester, and 2019-2026 Ascent vehicles. These vehicles were manufactured w…

Recall #
26V436000
Verify with NHTSA →
View my saved recalls

Subaru recalled Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Fo….

SUBARU 2019-2025: EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS was recalled by Subaru in July 7, 2026. Reason: Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Fores…. Remedy: Subaru will mail a new certification label to owners, free of charge. Owners may also cho…. Verify recall #26V436000 with the NHTSA before acting.

The recall

Subaru issued this NHTSA recall-Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Fores….

None
agency class
July 7, 2026
reported

Sourced from official NHTSA enforcement records. Verify recall #26V436000 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

The number of affected units is not disclosed in the agency filing, which is common for drug and food recalls where lot-level tracking supersedes unit counts. Distribution scope (see Distribution below) directly affects the consumer exposure window and determines whether a recall remains regional or escalates into a nationwide advisory. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 3 from NHTSA - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Vehicles recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 7,783 vehicles recalls on record

200300400500600 20052008201120142017202020232026 222

Product description

Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Forester, and 2019-2026 Ascent vehicles. These vehicles were manufactured with an incorrect Gross Axle Weight Rating (GAWR) on the certification label. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 110, "Tire selection and rims."

Reason for recall

Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Forester, and 2019-2026 Ascent vehicles. These vehicles were manufactured with an incorrect Gross Axle Weight Rating (GAWR) on the certification label. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 110, "Tire selection and rims."

Hazard

An incorrect GAWR label may lead to an overloaded vehicle, increasing the risk of a crash.

Remedy, what to do

Subaru will mail a new certification label to owners, free of charge. Owners may also choose to have a dealer install the new label, free of charge. Letters informing owners of the safety risk are expected to be mailed August 25, 2026. Additional letters will be mailed once the remedy is available. Owners may contact Subaru customer service at 1-844-373-6614. Subaru's number for this recall is WRH-26.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the NHTSA recall record
Attribute Value
Agency National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 26V436000
Date reported July 7, 2026
Date initiated July 7, 2026
Recalling firm Subaru
Affected scope Not disclosed
Distribution United States
Official source NHTSA notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official NHTSA enforcement record. Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

What to do with this recall

Subaru will mail a new certification label to owners, free of charge. Owners may also choose to have a dealer install the new lab…

  • Check the recall number (26V436000) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official NHTSA notice before acting. NHTSA notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official NHTSA record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled? ▼
Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Forester, and 2019-2026 Ascent vehicles. These vehicles were manufactured with an incorrect Gross Axle Weight Rating (GAWR) on the certification label. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 110, "Tire selection and rims.". Recalled by Subaru.
Why was this product recalled? ▼
Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is recalling certain 2026 Crosstrek Hybrid, 2025-2026 Forester Hybrid, Forester, and 2019-2026 Ascent vehicles. These vehicles were manufactured with an incorrect Gross Axle Weight Rating (GAWR) on the certification label. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 110, "Tire selection and rims."
What should consumers do? ▼
Subaru will mail a new certification label to owners, free of charge. Owners may also choose to have a dealer install the new label, free of charge. Letters informing owners of the safety risk are expected to be mailed August 25, 2026. Additional letters will be mailed once the remedy is available. Owners may contact Subaru customer service at 1-844-373-6614. Subaru's number for this recall is WRH-26.
Which agency issued this recall? ▼
This recall was issued by the NHTSA on July 7, 2026. NHTSA does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 26V436000.
Where was the recalled product distributed? ▼
Distribution: United States.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product? ▼
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Vehicle and equipment notices outside this manufacturer and filing state, matched by archive severity grade and report timing.

Compare this recall with KTM North America Recalls Off-Road Motorcycles Due to Risk … → · All Vehicles recalls

This recall: NHTSA, reported July 7, 2026. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026