CPSC recall · Reported May 27, 2010
Buckyballs High Powered Magnets Sets Recalled by Maxfield and Oberton Due to Violation of Federal Toy Standard
The high powered magnets sets were labeled "Ages 13+" and do not meet the mandatory toy standard F963-08 (effective August 17, 2009) which requires that such powerful magnets are …
The CPSC recalled This recall involves the Buckyballs® high powered magnets sets labeled "Ages 13+". The se….
Buckyballs High Powered Magnets Sets Recalled by Maxfield and Oberton Due to Violation of… was recalled and listed by the CPSC in May 27, 2010. Reason: The high powered magnets sets were labeled "Ages 13+" and do not meet the mandatory toy standard F963-08 (eff…. Remedy: Consumers should take the Buckyballs® high powered magnets sets labeled "Ages 13+" away f…. Verify recall #10251 with the CPSC before acting.
The recall
issued this CPSC recall-The high powered magnets sets were labeled "Ages 13+" and do not meet the mandatory toy standard F963-08 (eff….
- None
- agency class
- May 27, 2010
- reported
Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #10251 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.
Recall Insight
This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.
Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 5 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.
Children & Baby Products recalls over time
Where this recall sits in its category - 3,781 children & baby products recalls on record
Product description
This recall involves the Buckyballs® high powered magnets sets labeled "Ages 13+". The set contains 216 powerful rare earth magnets. It is intended to build unlimited shapes and patterns. Since March 2010, Buckyballs® high powered magnets sets were labeled "Keep Away From All Children" and are not being recalled.
Reason for recall
The high powered magnets sets were labeled "Ages 13+" and do not meet the mandatory toy standard F963-08 (effective August 17, 2009) which requires that such powerful magnets are not sold for children under 14. Magnets found by young children can be swallowed or aspirated. If more than one magnet is swallowed, the magnets can attract each other and cause intestinal perforations or blockages, which can be fatal.
Remedy, what to do
Consumers should take the Buckyballs® high powered magnets sets labeled "Ages 13+" away from children under 14 immediately and contact Maxfield and Oberton for instructions on receiving a refund upon return of a complete set of magnets.
Recall Profile
| Attribute | Value |
|---|---|
| Agency | U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission |
| Severity class | Not classified by agency |
| Status | Active |
| Recall number | 10251 |
| Date reported | May 27, 2010 |
| Date initiated | May 27, 2010 |
| Recalling firm | Not disclosed |
| Affected scope | About 175,000 |
| Distribution | Not disclosed |
| Official source | CPSC notice → |
Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.
What to do with this recall
Consumers should take the Buckyballs® high powered magnets sets labeled "Ages 13+" away from children under 14 immediately and co…
- Check the recall number (10251) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
- Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
- Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next
This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.
Frequently Asked Questions
What product was recalled? ▼
Why was this product recalled? ▼
What should consumers do? ▼
Which agency issued this recall? ▼
How do I report an injury from a recalled product? ▼
Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing
Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.
Similar severity · nearest report date
Same archive severity grade, closest by report date among other firms and states.
Similar Children & Baby Products · nearest report date
Same product category, closest by report date among other firms and states (deduped against the severity set).
Compare this recall with CLEAR EYES Maximum Itchy Eye Relief, 0.5 fl oz (15 mL) per … → · All Children & Baby Products recalls
Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026