PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported June 6, 2018

GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps Due to Shock and Electrocution Hazards; Sold Exclusively at Lowe's Stores

The pins on one end of the lamp can be energized during installation/removal, posing electric shock and electrocution hazards.

Recall #
18170
Affected scope
About 46,000 packages of two tube lamps (92,000 individual lamps)
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves GE Lighting's 31243 LED13T8U840 LED two pack tube lamps. These units….

GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps Due to Shock and Electrocution Hazards; Sold Exclusive… was recalled and listed by the CPSC in June 6, 2018. Reason: The pins on one end of the lamp can be energized during installation/removal, posing electric shock and elect…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately contact GE Lighting to receive instructions on safely removi…. Verify recall #18170 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-The pins on one end of the lamp can be energized during installation/removal, posing electric shock and elect….

None
agency class
June 6, 2018
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #18170 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 6 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Household Products recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 3,089 household products recalls on record

50100150200250 20052008201120142017202020232026 148

Product description

This recall involves GE Lighting's 31243 LED13T8U840 LED two pack tube lamps. These units are most often used in garages, basements, workshops and utility rooms. The GE logo and model information are printed on a label near the tube's base. Brand Model Product Code and Description GE Lighting 31243 LED13T8U840/2PKL

Reason for recall

The pins on one end of the lamp can be energized during installation/removal, posing electric shock and electrocution hazards.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately contact GE Lighting to receive instructions on safely removing the LED tube lamps, and to receive a refund in the form of a $17 gift card. Consumers should make sure the light switch is "off" before attempting to change LED tube lamps.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 18170
Date reported June 6, 2018
Date initiated June 6, 2018
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 46,000 packages of two tube lamps (92,000 individual lamps)
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately contact GE Lighting to receive instructions on safely removing the LED tube lamps, and to receive a …

  • Check the recall number (18170) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves GE Lighting's 31243 LED13T8U840 LED two pack tube lamps. These units are most often used in garages, basements, workshops and utility rooms. The GE logo and model information are printed on a label near the tube's base. Brand Model Product Code and Description GE Lighting 31243 LED13T8U840/2PKL. Units affected: About 46,000 packages of two tube lamps (92,000 individual lamps).
Why was this product recalled?
The pins on one end of the lamp can be energized during installation/removal, posing electric shock and electrocution hazards.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately contact GE Lighting to receive instructions on safely removing the LED tube lamps, and to receive a refund in the form of a $17 gift card. Consumers should make sure the light switch is "off" before attempting to change LED tube lamps.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on June 6, 2018. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 18170.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with CCM Hockey U.S. Recalls FMHVR Hybrid Visors and ACCHVR Repl… → · All Household Products recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported June 6, 2018. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026