PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported March 18, 2020

NumbSkin Pain Relief Cream Recalled by SeeNext Venture Due to Failure to Meet Child Resistant Packaging Requirement; Risk of Poisoning (Recall Alert)

The packaging is not child resistant as required by the Poison Prevention Packaging Act. The pain relieving cream contains lidocaine, posing a risk of poisoning to young children …

Recall #
20724
Affected scope
About 8,000
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves NumbSkin pain relief cream with 5% lidocaine. The topical anesthetic….

NumbSkin Pain Relief Cream Recalled by SeeNext Venture Due to Failure to Meet Child Resis… was recalled and listed by the CPSC in March 18, 2020. Reason: The packaging is not child resistant as required by the Poison Prevention Packaging Act. The pain relieving c…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately store the pain relief cream in a safe location out of reach …. Verify recall #20724 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-The packaging is not child resistant as required by the Poison Prevention Packaging Act. The pain relieving c….

None
agency class
March 18, 2020
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #20724 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 5 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Children & Baby Products recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 3,781 children & baby products recalls on record

0100200300400500600 20052008201120142017202020232026 196

Product description

This recall involves NumbSkin pain relief cream with 5% lidocaine. The topical anesthetic cream was sold in 30 grams in a white with blue tube. NumbSkin is printed on the tube. Lot 9238 and a date code of 10/2019 through 09/2020 in a MM/YYYY format is embossed on the tub's thin end. Batch number 9238 is printed on the product packaging.

Reason for recall

The packaging is not child resistant as required by the Poison Prevention Packaging Act. The pain relieving cream contains lidocaine, posing a risk of poisoning to young children if they put it on their skin or ingest it.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately store the pain relief cream in a safe location out of reach of children and contact SeeNext Venture for instructions on how to dispose or return it and to receive a free replacement similar product with a child-resistant cap. Amazon is contacting all known purchasers directly.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 20724
Date reported March 18, 2020
Date initiated March 18, 2020
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 8,000
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately store the pain relief cream in a safe location out of reach of children and contact SeeNext Venture …

  • Check the recall number (20724) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves NumbSkin pain relief cream with 5% lidocaine. The topical anesthetic cream was sold in 30 grams in a white with blue tube. NumbSkin is printed on the tube. Lot 9238 and a date code of 10/2019 through 09/2020 in a MM/YYYY format is embossed on the tub's thin end. Batch number 9238 is printed on the product packaging.. Units affected: About 8,000.
Why was this product recalled?
The packaging is not child resistant as required by the Poison Prevention Packaging Act. The pain relieving cream contains lidocaine, posing a risk of poisoning to young children if they put it on their skin or ingest it.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately store the pain relief cream in a safe location out of reach of children and contact SeeNext Venture for instructions on how to dispose or return it and to receive a free replacement similar product with a child-resistant cap. Amazon is contacting all known purchasers directly.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on March 18, 2020. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 20724.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with CLEAR EYES Maximum Itchy Eye Relief, 0.5 fl oz (15 mL) per … → · All Children & Baby Products recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported March 18, 2020. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026