PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

CPSC recall · Reported July 3, 2025

Positec Recalls Electric Corded Chainsaws and Pole Saws Due to Laceration Hazard

The main switch on the recalled chainsaws and pole saws can fail, allowing the saws to continue to run even after the switch is released, posing a laceration hazard.

Recall #
25371
Affected scope
About 49,000 (In addition, about 3,000 were sold in Canada)
Verify with CPSC →
View my saved recalls

The CPSC recalled This recall involves Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaws, Worx 8 Amp 14" Elec….

Positec Recalls Electric Corded Chainsaws and Pole Saws Due to Laceration Hazard was recalled and listed by the CPSC in July 3, 2025. Reason: The main switch on the recalled chainsaws and pole saws can fail, allowing the saws to continue to run even a…. Remedy: Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled products and contact Positec for a p…. Verify recall #25371 with the CPSC before acting.

The recall

issued this CPSC recall-The main switch on the recalled chainsaws and pole saws can fail, allowing the saws to continue to run even a….

None
agency class
July 3, 2025
reported

Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #25371 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 6 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Household Products recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 3,089 household products recalls on record

50100150200250 20052008201120142017202020232026 148

Product description

This recall involves Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaws, Worx 8 Amp 14" Electric Chainsaws, Worx 8 Amp Electric Pole Saws, and Portland 9 Amp 14" Chainsaws. The Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaw is a black saw with red trim, marked Hyper Tough on the saw body and on the bar. The Worx 8 Amp 14" Electric Chainsaw is an orange and black saw marked WORX on the saw body and on the bar. The Worx 8 Amp Electric Pole Saw is an orange and black saw marked WORX on the saw body and on the bar and is shipped with an 8-foot pole extension. The Portland 9 Amp 14" Chainsaw is a green saw with a black bar, marked Portland on the bar. The following item numbers, SKUs, UPCs and serial number or manufacturing date ranges are included in the recall: Product Name Item/SKU/UPC Sold At Serial No. Range/Manufacture Date Range Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaws HT21-401-002-01 Walmart stores Walmart.com 10/10/2024 -12/01/2024 Worx 8 Amp 14" Electric Chainsaws WG305 Worx.com Amazon.com Serial No. Starts With [First Six Digits]: Between 202408 and 202501 Worx 8 Amp Electric Pole Saws WG309 Worx.com Amazon.com Serial No. Starts With [First Six Digits]: Between 202408 and 202501 Portland 9 Amp 14" Chainsaws SKU 58949 UPC 193175451774 Harbor Freight stores HarborFreight.com Between 37567 2442 and 37567 2451

Reason for recall

The main switch on the recalled chainsaws and pole saws can fail, allowing the saws to continue to run even after the switch is released, posing a laceration hazard.

Remedy, what to do

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled products and contact Positec for a pre-paid shipping label, and a new box as needed, to return the units free of charge. Positec will provide a free replacement chainsaw or pole saw upon receipt of the recalled product.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the CPSC recall record
Attribute Value
Agency U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 25371
Date reported July 3, 2025
Date initiated July 3, 2025
Recalling firm Not disclosed
Affected scope About 49,000 (In addition, about 3,000 were sold in Canada)
Distribution Not disclosed
Official source CPSC notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

What to do with this recall

Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled products and contact Positec for a pre-paid shipping label, and a new box as…

  • Check the recall number (25371) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
This recall involves Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaws, Worx 8 Amp 14" Electric Chainsaws, Worx 8 Amp Electric Pole Saws, and Portland 9 Amp 14" Chainsaws. The Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaw is a black saw with red trim, marked Hyper Tough on the saw body and on the bar. The Worx 8 Amp 14" Electric Chainsaw is an orange and black saw marked WORX on the saw body and on the bar. The Worx 8 Amp Electric Pole Saw is an orange and black saw marked WORX on the saw body and on the bar and is shipped with an 8-foot pole extension. The Portland 9 Amp 14" Chainsaw is a green saw with a black bar, marked Portland on the bar. The following item numbers, SKUs, UPCs and serial number or manufacturing date ranges are included in the recall: Product Name Item/SKU/UPC Sold At Serial No. Range/Manufacture Date Range Hyper Tough 9 Amp Electric Corded 14" Chainsaws HT21-401-002-01 Walmart stores Walmart.com 10/10/2024 -12/01/2024 Worx 8 Amp 14" Electric Chainsaws WG305 Worx.com Amazon.com Serial No. Starts With [First Six Digits]: Between 202408 and 202501 Worx 8 Amp Electric Pole Saws WG309 Worx.com Amazon.com Serial No. Starts With [First Six Digits]: Between 202408 and 202501 Portland 9 Amp 14" Chainsaws SKU 58949 UPC 193175451774 Harbor Freight stores HarborFreight.com Between 37567 2442 and 37567 2451. Units affected: About 49,000 (In addition, about 3,000 were sold in Canada).
Why was this product recalled?
The main switch on the recalled chainsaws and pole saws can fail, allowing the saws to continue to run even after the switch is released, posing a laceration hazard.
What should consumers do?
Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled products and contact Positec for a pre-paid shipping label, and a new box as needed, to return the units free of charge. Positec will provide a free replacement chainsaw or pole saw upon receipt of the recalled product.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the CPSC on July 3, 2025. CPSC does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 25371.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.

Compare this recall with CCM Hockey U.S. Recalls FMHVR Hybrid Visors and ACCHVR Repl… → · All Household Products recalls

This recall: CPSC, reported July 3, 2025. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026