CPSC recall · Reported February 26, 2026
TheKiddoSpace Recalls Children's Handwriting Practice Kits Due to Risk of Injury from Lead Exposure; Violates Federal Lead Content Ban
The pens in the recalled children's handwriting kits contain levels of lead in the nib that exceed the federal lead content ban. Lead is toxic if ingested by young children and ca…
The CPSC recalled This recall involves two different types of TheKiddoSpace-branded handwriting practice ki….
TheKiddoSpace Recalls Children's Handwriting Practice Kits Due to Risk of Injury from Lea… was recalled and listed by the CPSC in February 26, 2026. Reason: The pens in the recalled children's handwriting kits contain levels of lead in the nib that exceed the federa…. Remedy: Consumers should stop using the recalled handwriting kits immediately, take the pens and …. Verify recall #26293 with the CPSC before acting.
The recall
issued this CPSC recall-The pens in the recalled children's handwriting kits contain levels of lead in the nib that exceed the federa….
- None
- agency class
- February 26, 2026
- reported
Sourced from official CPSC enforcement records. Verify recall #26293 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.
Recall Insight
This recall's affected scope, documented in the Recall Profile below, stays within a single-region or limited-distribution footprint. Distribution information was not included in the agency filing, so consumers should assume broad potential exposure until the firm publishes point-of-sale details. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.
Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 6 from CPSC - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.
Household Products recalls over time
Where this recall sits in its category - 3,089 household products recalls on record
Product description
This recall involves two different types of TheKiddoSpace-branded handwriting practice kits sold with or without a carrying case: - The block handwriting kits consist of four reusable books with animal images on the cover (alphabet with a bunny, numbers with a frog, math with a cow and drawing with an elephant); black pens; blue, green, yellow, purple, pink and red pen grips; and pen refills. TheKiddoSpace logo and "Handwriting Practice Kit" are printed on the blue and white book covers and their storage box. - The cursive handwriting kits consist of three reusable books (letters, words and sentences) with an image of an open book on the cover; black pens; blue, green, yellow, purple, pink and red pen grips; and pen refills. TheKiddoSpace logo and "Cursive Practice Kit" are printed on the blue and white book covers and their storage box.
Reason for recall
The pens in the recalled children's handwriting kits contain levels of lead in the nib that exceed the federal lead content ban. Lead is toxic if ingested by young children and can cause adverse health issues.
Remedy, what to do
Consumers should stop using the recalled handwriting kits immediately, take the pens and refills away from children and contact The KiddoSpace to receive free replacement pens and refills, including shipping. Consumers will be asked to dispose of the pens and refills according to local and state regulations and send a photo of the disposed products to info@thekiddospace.com.
Recall Profile
| Attribute | Value |
|---|---|
| Agency | U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission |
| Severity class | Not classified by agency |
| Status | Active |
| Recall number | 26293 |
| Date reported | February 26, 2026 |
| Date initiated | February 26, 2026 |
| Recalling firm | Not disclosed |
| Affected scope | About 19,700 |
| Distribution | Not disclosed |
| Official source | CPSC notice → |
Profile values are sourced directly from the official CPSC enforcement record. Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.
What to do with this recall
Consumers should stop using the recalled handwriting kits immediately, take the pens and refills away from children and contact T…
- Check the recall number (26293) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
- Confirm the current status and remedy on the official CPSC notice before acting. CPSC notice
- Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next
This page summarizes the official CPSC record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.
Frequently Asked Questions
What product was recalled? ▼
Why was this product recalled? ▼
What should consumers do? ▼
Which agency issued this recall? ▼
How do I report an injury from a recalled product? ▼
Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing
Consumer-product notices outside this firm and state, matched by severity timing and product category.
Similar severity · nearest report date
Same archive severity grade, closest by report date among other firms and states.
Similar Household Products · nearest report date
Same product category, closest by report date among other firms and states (deduped against the severity set).
Compare this recall with CCM Hockey U.S. Recalls FMHVR Hybrid Visors and ACCHVR Repl… → · All Household Products recalls
Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026