PlainRecalls
No agency classActive

NHTSA recall · Reported October 13, 2020

HYUNDAI 2019-2020: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:PROPULSION SYSTEM:TRACTION BATTERY:MANAGEMENT SYSTEM/ENERGY CONTROL MODULE (BMS/BECM):SOFTWARE

Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.

Recall #
20V630000
Verify with NHTSA →
View my saved recalls

Hyundai recalled Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. T….

HYUNDAI 2019-2020: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:PROPULSION SYSTEM:TRACTION BATTERY:MANAGEMENT SYSTEM… was recalled by Hyundai in October 13, 2020. Reason: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-i…. Remedy: Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the Battery Management System (BMS) s…. Verify recall #20V630000 with the NHTSA before acting.

The recall

Hyundai issued this NHTSA recall-Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-i….

None
agency class
October 13, 2020
reported

Sourced from official NHTSA enforcement records. Verify recall #20V630000 with the agency before acting. Full product description, hazard, remedy, and related recalls are below.

Recall Insight

The number of affected units is not disclosed in the agency filing, which is common for drug and food recalls where lot-level tracking supersedes unit counts. Distribution scope (see Distribution below) directly affects the consumer exposure window and determines whether a recall remains regional or escalates into a nationwide advisory. Consumers holding this product should act on the agency's documented remedy above rather than relying on general guidance.

Within the same product category the archive holds 6 closely related recalls, 3 from NHTSA - clustering in a narrow category often points to a systemic quality-control or supplier issue rather than a one-off defect. Always verify the recall number against the official agency record before acting.

Vehicles recalls over time

Where this recall sits in its category - 7,783 vehicles recalls on record

200300400500600 20052008201120142017202020232026 222

Product description

Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.

Reason for recall

Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.

Hazard

An electrical short in the Li-ion battery increases the risk of a fire.

Remedy, what to do

Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the Battery Management System (BMS) software and inspect the Li-ion battery, replacing it if necessary, free of charge. Owners are advised to park their vehicles outside and away from structures until the repair is complete. The recall began November 13, 2020. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 196.

Recall Profile

Structured summary of the NHTSA recall record
Attribute Value
Agency National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Severity class Not classified by agency
Status Active
Recall number 20V630000
Date reported October 13, 2020
Date initiated October 13, 2020
Recalling firm Hyundai
Affected scope Not disclosed
Distribution United States
Official source NHTSA notice →

Profile values are sourced directly from the official NHTSA enforcement record. Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

What to do with this recall

Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the Battery Management System (BMS) software and inspect the Li-ion battery, …

  • Check the recall number (20V630000) and product description against the item you own. Search the archive
  • Confirm the current status and remedy on the official NHTSA notice before acting. NHTSA notice
  • Follow the documented remedy (refund, replacement, repair, or disposal) rather than general advice. What to do next

This page summarizes the official NHTSA record for research and awareness; it is not legal, medical, or safety advice. Verify with the issuing agency before acting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What product was recalled?
Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.. Recalled by Hyundai.
Why was this product recalled?
Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Kona Electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery may short-circuit.
What should consumers do?
Hyundai will notify owners, and dealers will update the Battery Management System (BMS) software and inspect the Li-ion battery, replacing it if necessary, free of charge. Owners are advised to park their vehicles outside and away from structures until the repair is complete. The recall began November 13, 2020. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's number for this recall is 196.
Which agency issued this recall?
This recall was issued by the NHTSA on October 13, 2020. NHTSA does not publish a hazard classification for this recall. Recall number: 20V630000.
Where was the recalled product distributed?
Distribution: United States.
How do I report an injury from a recalled product?
Report injuries to the issuing agency: CPSC at SaferProducts.gov, NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/report-a-safety-problem, or FDA via MedWatch. Document the product (photos, model/serial numbers, purchase receipts) and seek medical attention. Injury reports help agencies track hazard patterns and may strengthen enforcement actions.

Nationwide recalls with similar severity or category timing

Vehicle and equipment notices outside this manufacturer and filing state, matched by archive severity grade and report timing.

Compare this recall with KTM North America Recalls Off-Road Motorcycles Due to Risk … → · All Vehicles recalls

This recall: NHTSA, reported October 13, 2020. Severity classes follow each agency's own taxonomy; related-recall context is computed across the full archive.

Methodology · Corrections · Archive as of August 2026